Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens-Rainer Ohm

Chair, Institute of Communication Engineering, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Chair of the Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29 and ITU-T SG16

“Recent developments and perspectives in video coding and its standardization”

Jens-Rainer Ohm holds the chair position of the Institute of Communication Engineering at RWTH Aachen University, Germany since 2000. His research and teaching activities cover the areas of multimedia signal processing, analysis, compression, transmission and content description, including 3D and VR video applications, bio signal processing and communication, application of deep learning approaches in the given fields, as well as fundamental topics of signal processing and digital communication systems.

Since 1998, he participates in the work of the Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG). He has been chairing/co-chairing various standardization activities of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11 (MPEG) in video coding, namely the MPEG Video Subgroup 2002-2018, the Joint Video Team (JVT) of MPEG and ITU-T SG16/Q6 (VCEG) 2005-2009, the Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCT-VC) 2010-2020, as well as the Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) since 2015. In 2020, after disbanding of WG11, he was appointed convenor of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG5, and since then, he is chairing JVET on behalf of both ISO and ITU-T parent bodies.
Prof. Ohm has authored textbooks on multimedia signal processing, analysis and coding, on communication engineering and signal transmission, as well as numerous papers from the fields mentioned above. He has served on editorial boards of Journals and TPCs of various conferences, and is currently member of the organizing committee for ICIP 2024.
Prof. Ohm has served as Dean of Study for the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology of RWTH Aachen 2002-2010, has been Vice Dean 2016-2018, and Dean of the Faculty 2018-2024.

Dr. Anne Aaron

Senior Director of Encoding Technologies, Netflix, USA

“Video compression in the wild: Learnings and opportunities from a video streaming company”

Anne Aaron is Senior Director of Encoding Technologies at Netflix. She leads the team responsible for workflows, services and research related to media encoding and processing for Netflix streaming, studio and cloud games. The work of the team enables the best picture, sound and timed-text quality while watching Netflix. Anne is originally from Manila, Philippines and holds B.S. degrees in Physics and Computer Engineering from Ateneo de Manila University and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University. Anne was recognized by Forbes as one of America’s Top 50 Women In Tech in 2018 and received the Workflow Media Systems Medal from the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers in 2019. In 2021, her team received two Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards for their work on video encoding and quality. When she is not running after or feeding her two kids, she tries to catch up on the latest shows on Netflix. Anne’s recent favorites were Beef, The Crown and One Day.

Dr. Kevin Jou

Corporate Executive Vice President & CTO, MediaTek, Taiwan

“Progress and Opportunities in Video Coding from Chip Design Perspective”

Dr. Kevin Jou is Chief Technology Officer and Corporate Executive Vice President at MediaTek. In addition to providing guidance to the company’s technology and product strategies, he oversees its advanced research, as well as all engineering activities in computing, graphics, artificial intelligence, and multimedia technologies. Dr. Jou’s contributions has helped advance MediaTek’s technology leadership and market position across all of its business areas.

Before joining MediaTek in 2011, Dr. Jou spent nearly 22 years at Qualcomm, Inc. He was Qualcomm China’s Chief Technology Officer from 2003 to 2005.
Dr. Jou holds nearly 100 U.S. patents, many of which are used by every cellular phone and system worldwide. He has published in wireless communications, computing, and multimedia technologies.
Dr. Jou received his Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from National Taiwan University, and Master of Science and Ph. D. degrees, both in electrical engineering, from the University of Southern California. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.